ASCN awarded European ‘Digital School’ status for excellence in digital teaching and learning

20 Apr, 2023 | Digital

29 March 2023 – ASCN has been recognised with the prestigious European ‘Digital School’ status for their outstanding contributions in digital teaching and learning.
Supported by global technology giants HP and AMD, along with government and education partners, the Digital Schools Award Europe aims to promote digital teaching and learning and equip pupils with advanced digital skills.
To achieve the award, schools must demonstrate a whole school digital strategy, evidence of how digital technology enhances learning, and a commitment to ongoing teacher professional development. The programme has already highlighted innovative and collaborative approaches to integrating digital technology in teaching and learning, inspiring other schools to follow suit.

This award is a testament to ASCN’s commitment to providing students with a cutting-edge education and equipping them with advanced digital skills.

At the awards ceremony held at Banagher College, County Offaly, nine secondary schools in the Laois Offaly Education and Training Board received their award today. These schools took part in a new initiative called the SELFIE Digital Schools Academy, which aims to support sustainable digital education practices in European schools. The academy provides schools that have completed the European SELFIE self-reflection tool with digital education mentor support and professional development resources, focusing on themes such as leadership, collaboration, infrastructure, professional development, teaching and learning, assessment, student digital competences, STEAM education, and remote learning.

LOETB Director of Schools, Linda Tynan, described the Digital Schools Awards as having been ‘very beneficial for our schools’, adding, ‘I’m really delighted that we’ve been able to support an initiative like this, where the digital innovation of our staff and students is formally recognised; it’s very gratifying to see that all our schools have been so successful within the Digital Schools Awards programme.’
Speaking at the awards ceremony where a total of 14 Irish secondary schools were presented with their award, Val Gabriel, Managing Director of HP Ireland said: ‘The Digital Schools Award Europe is providing a vital platform for schools to assess and develop their digital capabilities. These 14 Irish secondary schools have demonstrated outstanding leadership in embracing digital technology as a tool for enhancing education.

HP are proud to have set a goal of accelerating digital equity for 150 million people globally by 2030 and this is a great step towards achieving that whilst also bringing about more digital equity for Irish schools. Congratulations to all awarded schools for their achievements, and we look forward to continuing to work together to drive digital innovation in education.’
Rachel D’Alton, Site Administration Manager at AMD, commented: ‘Congratulations to the teachers and staff in the schools that are receiving their awards today. With our commitment to inspiring the next generation of innovators, we at AMD are proud to partner with organisations like the Digital Schools Awards to advance digital education in Ireland and beyond. We congratulate those awarded today and thank you for your hard work in integrating digital technology into the curriculum. Promoting technology skills among students will undoubtedly have a positive impact on their future success.’

Anna Doody, Programme Manager at Digital Schools Awards, said: ‘Digital skills are crucial for the success of our young people in an increasingly digital world. It is inspiring to see these 14 Irish secondary schools recognised for their commitment to digital teaching and learning, and for their efforts to equip their students with digital skills for the future. Through the Digital Schools Award Europe, we are working to promote excellence in digital education across Europe, and these schools are setting a high standard for others to follow.’

2023 awarded digital schools:
Ard Scoil Chiaráin Naofa
Banagher College
Clonaslee College
Coláiste Naomh Cormac
Dunamase College
Holy Family Community School
Oaklands Community College, Edenderry
Portlaoise College
Presentation Secondary School Waterford
St Colmans Community College
St Colmcilles Community School
St. Fergal’s College, Rathdowney
Scoil Ui Dhalaigh
Tullamore College



Secondary schools are encouraged to register for the Digital Schools Awards Europe programme, which is free to all schools, through the website where they can undergo a self-evaluation of current practices and standards.

The SELFIE Digital Schools Academy will open to all schools starting from September 2023. The programme will help promote social inclusion and equality by connecting schools with mentor schools to enhance their digital practices. Teachers can expect to receive valuable mentorship and support to help them plan and develop their school’s digital strategies. The programme will work with schools to connect them with innovative digital mentors, who will help them explore approaches and adapt them to their own settings.

For further information, please contact:
Contact name / email / telephone number

For more information, visit:

More News…

Sarah Reynolds playing for Ireland in the BOB Docherty Cup

Sarah Reynolds playing for Ireland in the BOB Docherty Cup

SAFIB Bob Docherty Cup | Under 15 Girls’ International Tournament   ATHLONE TOWN AFC will host the 2024 SAFIB Bob Dochety Cup in the Under 15 Girls’ International Tournament. The Republic of Ireland Schools will enjoy home advantage this season with England, Scotland...

read more
Visit to TUS Athlone with Business in the Community

Visit to TUS Athlone with Business in the Community

This week 2nd year students visited TUS Athlone as part of the Business in the Community programme. The BITC programme is about Sustainability. The students received an amazing tour of the college and got a huge insight into how TUS Athlone is being sustainable.  ...

read more
Trinity Law Society Outreach Programme

Trinity Law Society Outreach Programme

Congratulations to our TY students Keelan Dalton, Aobhinn Lynch ,Dara McEvoy & Sarah McKeon who travelled to Trinity College on Friday 15th to participate in a Mock Trial Competition organisied as part of the Trinity Law Society Outreach Programme.Our ASCN team...

read more